SAQG Accredited Quilt Teachers

SAQG Accredited Quilt Teachers are those quilt teachers who have successfully completed a one-year correspondence accreditation course.

SAQG Recommended Quilt Teachers are those current quilt teachers who have been acknowledged as being excellent teachers with a solid record of experience.

SAQG Specialist Quilt Teachers are those who are recognized for their unique specialization in a particular aspect of quilting, such as machine quilting, thread painting or teaching children. 

Accredited, Recommended and Specialist Quilt Teachers are eligible to apply to teach at the National Quilt Festivals.

SAQG Quilt Teacher Accreditation Course

The SAQG Quilt Teacher Accreditation Course commences in February 2018 and is a correspondence course studied over 12 months that finishes in February 2019.  Subjects covered are Quilt Teaching Theory, Quilt History, Quilting Techniques and Terminology, Copyright and Contracts and Practical skills and Tasks. A high standard of work is expected and quilters with experience in teaching quilting or who wish to do so should apply. On successful completion of the course students are granted SAQG Quilt Teacher Accreditation. For more information contact the course co-ordinator Jenny Hermans (jenny@renehermans.co.za

Download Document >>

Teachers

Accredited

Clark, Joy (A) Port Elizabeth (E) joy.clark999@gmail.com (T) 041 378 1074 (M) 082 557 1150
Butler, Colleen (A) St Francis Bay (E) butlerc@mweb.co.za (T) 042 294 0383 (M) 082 599 1640
Fox, Shan (A) Port Elizabeth (E) shanfox@mweb.co.za (T) 041 367 5251 (M) 083 458 9702
Green, Carole (A) Port Elizabeth (E) jimgreen@mweb.co.za   (M) 076 026 7046
Juta, Desire (A) Port Elizabeth (E) scarecrowcrafts@metroweb.co.za (T) 041 379 4761 (M) 083 524 4713
Knox, Catherine (A) Bedford (E) catherineknoxmail@gmail.com (T) 046 685 1357 (M) 082 932 8864
Kriel, Antoinette (A) St Francis Bay (E) cmusiek@intekom.co.za (T) 042 294 1143 (M) 083 556 3043
Lancaster, Lesley (A) East London (E) lesley@tucweb.co.za   (M) 082 556 4298
Vosloo, Chiquita (A) Walmer (E) drchiquita@gmail.com (T) 041 373 3702 (M) 082 333 4028

 

Recommended

Cilliers, Macky (A) Aston Bay (E) cilliersmacky@gmail.com (T) 046 684 1612 (M) 082 498 5512
Franke, Angie (A) Port Elizabeth (E) artvark@cybersmart.co.za (T) 041 367 2056 (M) 082 228 2220
Pretorius, Marilyn (A) Port Elizabeth (E) maripre@mweb.co.za (T) 041 367 1634 (M) 084 790 9205
Scott, Sally (A) Eastern Cape (E) sallyscottza@hotmail.com (T) 046 622 3547 (M) 082 844 3688

 

Specialist

Harmer-Fox, Kathryn (A) East London, EC (E) kathryn.kathy@telkomsa.net (T) 043 737 4814 (M) 082 350 7024

Accredited

Brits, Elsa (A) Sasolburg, FS (E) elsa.brits@gmail.com (T) 016 973 3205 (M) 083 287 7446
du Toit, Annie (A) Bothaville, FS (E) gjmdutoit@btbits.co.za (T) 057 899 2334 (M) 083 441 0201
le Roux, Marianne (A) Bloemfontein, FS (E) lrouxm@cut.ac.za (T) 051 446 3577 (M) 082 826 2128
Steenberg, Iessie (A) Bloemfontein, FS (E) iessie@vodamail.co.za (T) (M) 082 705 5279
Strydom, Mari (A) Bultfontein, FS (E) maris@telkomsa.net (T) 051 863 2054 (M) 083 274 9161
van der Merwe, Petro (A) Ladybrand, FS (E) pjmotors@webmail.co.za (T) 002662 231 3643 (M) 083 274 9057

Accredited

Arnoldi, Shanida (A) Pretoria, GP (E) shanida@shelbyinteriors.co.za (T) 012 361 2053 (M) 082 850 6780
Aylward, Jeanette (A) Gauteng (E) jeanette.sewing@gmail.com (T) 011 972 1161 (M) 082 451 3374
Bornman, Suzen (A) Johannesburg, GP (E) henborn@iafrica.com (T) 011 955 1359 (M) 083 718 4789
Botha, Jeanette (A) Pretoria, GP (E) simstitch@mweb.co.za (T) (M) 083 964 4335
Burtenshaw, Wendy (A) Horizon, GP (E) j.burtenshaw@absamail.co.za (T) 011 763 4981 (M) 082 390 8558
Cilliers, Erla (A) Pretoria, GP (E) erla.cilliers@gmail.com (T) 012 667 1761 (M) 082 337 0037
Cilliers, Laetitia (A) Pretoria (E) laetitia.cilliers@gmail.com (T) 012 420 4168 (M) 072 254 1731
Day, Shan (A) Johannesburg, GP (E) shandayquilter@gmail.com (T) (M) 071 125 1975
De Harde, Tilly (A) Johannesburg, GP (E) tilly@psti.co.za (T) 011 888 4346 (M) 072 148 4201
Dercksen, Wilnamarie (A) Pretoria, GP (E) wilnamarie@gmail.com (T) 012 807 3678 (M) 083 417 5977
Du Toit, Charlie (A) Florida Hills, GP (E) charliedt@telkomsa.net (T) 011 672 3050 (M) 082 449 2373
du Toit, Debbie (A) Boksburg, GP (E) dutoit@vodamail.co.za (T) (M) 082 775 9983
Forbes, Kathy (A) Pretoria, Centurion, Gauteng (E) kathyforbes2@gmail.com (T) (M) 082 778 0754
Greyvenstein, Elaine (A) Centurion, GP (E) elaineg@scantracksa.com (T) 012 661 6768 (M) 083 450 2874
Holmes, Yvonne (A) Benoni, GP (E) yvonne@snippetshampers.co.za (T) 011 425 4272 (M) 083 260 4618
Jackson, Tracy (A) Pretoria (E) mentalmom1@gmail.com (T) (M) 082 789 1528
Jeffrey, Telene (A) Randburg, GP (E) telene@ladyjanequilting.co.za (T) (M) 083 480 8915
Jones, Denise (A) Benoni, GP (E) denise@joneslaw.co.za (T) (M) 082 889 1888
Labuschagne, Rose (A) Gauteng (E) roselabuschagne@yahoo.com (T) (M) 082 789 1528
Lombaard, Cecile (A) Klerksdorp (E) quiltalk@mweb.co.za (T) 018 462 9677 (M) 082 800 6727
Meintijes, Sandria (A) Pretoria, GP (E) sandria.meintjes@gmail.com (T) 012 329 5478 (M) 082 254 5054
Reyerse, Ansie (A) JHB (E) areyerse@mweb.co.za (T) 011 768 1283 (M) 083 307 9212
Rischbieter, Allyson (A) Roodepoort, GP (E) crafttime@telkomsa.net (T) 011 763 1973 (M) 083 294 0356
Scheepers, Carin (A) Montana Park, PTA (E) freemotion@telkomsa.net (T) (M) 082 443 5636
Serfontein, Ronelle (A) Gauteng (E) ronelle.serfontein@ubank.co.za (T) 011 518 5133 (M) 082 879 9072
Sittig, Susan (A) Vanderbijlpark, GP (E) eckart@twinradio.co.za (T) 016 9321 3275 (M) 082 291 9292
Smith, Hanli (A) JHB (E) hanli.smith@gmail.com (T) 011 740 6703 (M) 072 456 0990
Smith, Jenny (A) Randburg, GP (E) rayjenny@telkomsa.net (T) 011 792 2099 (M) 082 767 7170
Smith, Julie (A) Pretoria Gauteng (E) julieandysmith@gmail.com (T) 012 345 6725 (M) 083 415 1485
Trezona, Carolyn (A) Gauteng (E) cjtrez@megawifi.co.za (T) (M) 076 292 8123
van der Merwe, Marika (A) Ladybrand, GP (E) mariekavdm@vodamail.co.za (T) (M) 073 630 4641
van Velze, Corrianne (A) Pretoria (E) vanvelze@iafrica.com (T) 012 346 2700 (M) 082 923 1749

 

Recommended

Fourie, Maretha (A) Robin Hills, JHB (E) mmfour@mweb.co.za (T) (M)
Glover Taylor, Lesley (A) Johannesburg, GP (E) lesleyquilt@gmail.com (T) 011 679 2168 (M) 082 213 7983
Meyer, Ina (A) Eldoraigne, PTA (E) inameyer@ctweb.co.za (T) 012 654 8214 (M) 082 771 6957
Nobili, Grace (A) Johannesburg, GP (E) gracenobili@icon.co.za (T) 011 679 4386 (M) 073 176 9560
Perry, Rosemary (A) Johannesburg GP (E) quiltingrose43@gmail.com (T) 011 792 4880 (M) 082 626 6959
Potgieter, Almari (A) Pretoria, GP (E) almger@polka.co.za (T) 012 654 8844 (M) 083 330 9011
Svensson, Jenny (A) JHB (E) chimps@mweb.co.za (T) 011 760 1387 (M) 072 365 3499
van der Merwe, Marietha (A) GP (E) marietha.web@gmail.com (T) 012 361 1905 (M) 072 299 9428

 

Specialist

Wallace, Claire (A) Gauteng (E) clairewallace1602@gmail.com (T) (M) 082 562 5983


Accredited

Bauermeister, Cheryl (A) Gillitts, KZN (E) cherylbauermeister@yahoo.com (T) 031 764 0527 (M) 083 443 9063
Becker, Debbie (A) Durban, KZN (E) beckerdebbie38@gmail.com (T) 031 564 6005 (M) 083 778 5247
Cameron, Sue (A) Drummond, KZN (E) ashsue@iafrica.com (T) 031 783 4194 (M) 082 854 9883
Christianson, Viv (A) Hillcrest, KZN (E) vchristi@telkomsa.net (T) 031 765 4789 (M) 083 628 9938
Excell, Tiiu (A) Kloof, KZN (E) tiiu.excell@gmail.com (T) 031 764 1106 (M) 083 642 2006
Groenewald, Liesbeth (A) Ladysmith, KZN (E) liesbeth101@gmail.com (T) 036 631 4453 (M) 073 445 2444
Harley, Sally (A) Scottburgh, KZN (E) sharley@futurenet.co.za (T) 039 976 1173 (M) 072 786 2833
Hodsdon, Carol (A) Linkhills, KZN (E) hodsdon@telkomsa.net (T) 031 762 2562 (M) 083 303 1477
MacLeod, Wendy (A) Kloof, KZN (E) wendy@axxess.co.za (T) 031 764 6797 (M) 084 583 6986
Oberholzer, Ann (A) Uvongo, KZN (E) wboberholzer@telkomsa.net (T) (M) 084 625 9937
Pretorius, Elsje (A) Richards Bay, KZN (E) elsjecn@hotmail.com (T) 035 789 2535 (M) 082 953 5642
Renton, Jane (A) Estcourt, KZN (E) jane@rietvleilandscapes.co.za (T) 033 263 1276 (M) 082 558 1682
Smith, Mary-Ann (A) Natal Midlands, KZN (E) maggies@mweb.co.za (T) (M) 082 742 9427
Terblanche, May-Gene (A) Kloof, KZN (E) may-gene@maygene.co.za (T) 031 767 4438 (M) 083 406 3342
Turner, Marline (A) Pietermaritzburg, KZN (E) marline@iafrica.com (T) 033 396 3009 (M) 083 327 4881
Waring, Janet (A) Howick, KZN (E) waring@beycom.co.za (T) (M) 082 922 2391

 

Recommended

Barnard, Elaine (A) Newcastle, KZN (E) jan3elaine@gmail.com (T) 034 312 2264 (M) 084 556 0699
Beaumont, Helga (A) Kloof, Natal (E) helga@adoptimise.com (T) 031 764 0854 (M) 084 551 3883
Dace, Rosalie (A) Durban, KZN (E) rosalie.dace@gmail.com (T) (M) 031 201 0819
McMaster, Annette (A) (E) annette.mcmaster61@gmail.com (T) 033 347 9003 (M) 076 802 0353
Tolksdorf, Odette (A) Durban, KZN (E) odetteT@iafrica.com (T) 031 266 2978 (M) 074 172 0544


Accredited

Nel, Ann (A) Polokwane, Limpopo (E) ann@nty.co.za (T) 051 287 9782 (M) 083 411 1467

 

Recommended

Cloete, Rita (A) Bela Bela, LIM (E) jeedee@showme.co.za (T) 014 736 3568 (M) 071 609 6099

Currently no Teachers listed in Mpumalanga.

Accredited

Swart, Margriet (A) Stilfontein, NW (E) magrietswart@yahoo.com (T) 018 484 3481 (M) 082 813 0400

 

Recommended

Schutte, Paul (A) Potchefstroom, NW (E) Paul.schutte@nwu.ac.za (T) 018 297 3267 (M) 083 797 3267


Currently no Teachers listed in Northern Cape.

Accredited

Beckett, Heather (A) Stilbaai, WC (E) glendale@intekom.co.za (T) 028 754 1865 (M) 064 104 9396
Bonthuys, Bitha (A) Stillbaai, WC (E) bithab1@gmail.com (T) (M) 081 284 5523
Botha, Dal (A) Pringle Bay, WC (E) dalbotha@netscape.net (T) (M) 084 700 1727
Bouras, Tracy (A) Fish Hoek, WC (E) tracy@papershop.co.za (T) 021 761 2506 (M) 072 519 7472
Brown, Adrienne (A) Cape Town (E) adi@aplanconsulting.com (T) 021 558 2825 (M) 082 742 9427
Calvery, Sharon (A) Mossel Bay, WC (E) sharon@tucats.co.za (T) 044 601 7500 (M) 072 238 1000
Celliers-Louw, Kathryn (A) Hermanus, WC (E) kecl@hermanus.co.za (T) 028 976 2701 (M) 072 903 9320
Claase, Mari (A) Worcester, WC (E) theoliverose@breede.co.za (T) (M) 083 661 9933
Coetzee, Gwendoline (A) Bettysbaai, WC (E) gwendoline.coetzee@gmail.com (T) 028 272 9057 (M) 079 673 8882
Combrink, Louise (A) Stellenbosch, WC (E) louisec@iafrica.com (T) 028 273 8556 (M) 083 441 9593
Du Toit, Marie (A) Riebeeck-West, W Cape (E) mariedut@mweb.co.za (T) 022 461 2375 (M) 083 226 1183
Duncan, Hazelmay (A) Cape Town, W Cape (E) hazeduncan@gmail.com (T) 021 532 7524 (M) 084 453 7714
Hermans, Jenny (A) Cape Town, WC (E) jenny@renehermans.co.za (T) 021 531 6771 (M) 073 664 6311
Hughes, Irene (A) Glencairn, WC/Botswana (E) japhir@iafrica.com (T) 021 782 3951 (M) 060 506 3426
Huysamer, Karin (A) Cape Town (E) karin@disa.co.za (T) 021 913 3749 (M) 083 310 1174
Kieser, Helena (A) Langebaan (E) helena.kieser@vodamail.co.za (T) (M) 082 808 1051
Koorts, Lubi (A) Stellenbosch, W Cape (E) lubikoorts@gmail.com (T) 021 882 8101 (M) 082 826 2216
Pretorius, Sumari (A) Worcester, WC (E) sumari.pretorius@live.co.za (T) (M) 083 652 3408
Prins, Sue (A) Hermanus, WC (E) sjprins@mweb.co.za (T) 028 314 1918 (M) 072 248 3425
Prinsloo, Alysia (A) Hermanus, WC (E) prinsloo.alysia@gmail.com (T) 028 314 1916 (M) 082 922 5406
Sisson, Shirley (A) Sun Valley, CT (E) berninapeninsula@webafrica.org.za (T) 021 782 3227 (M) 082 556 7634
Smit, Ina (A) Mossel Bay, WC (E) ina@safraan.com (T) 044 695 1596 (M) 082 872 9460
Snyman, Esther (A) Riversdale, WC (E) esther@wispernet.co.za (T) 028 551 2215 (M) 072 612 3284
van Rooyen, Petro (A) Riviersonderend, WC (E) petrovanrooyen31@gmail.com (T) 028 261 1255 (M) 084 392 1032
Van Zyl, Bettie (A) Hermanus, WC (E) bettielaslap@gmail.com (T) 028 316 1278 (M) 082 330 9088
Weitsz, Marijke (A) Somerset West, WC (E) marijke@polka.co.za (T) 021 851 5418 (M) 076 678 7755
Wilshere, Estelle (A) Somerset West, CP (E) ewilshere@mweb.co.za (T) 021 853 8484 (M) 076 738 0172

 

Recommended

Cloete, Una (A) Cape Town, W Cape (E) uccloete@yahoo.com (T) (M) 021 637 8593
Gersbach, Doortjie (A) Montagu, WP (E) rooidoortjie@telkomsa.net (T) (M) 023 614 3284
Johnson, Carool (A) Overberg (E) thejohnsons@sonicmail.co.za (T) 028 271 3058 (M) 083 231 5332
Schofield, Simmy (A) (E) simschofield@gmail.com (T) 021 761 1044 (M) 082 789 7607


Accredited

Crawford, Nyree (A) Zambia (E) crawfordzambia@gmail.com (T) +26 096 728 0703 (M) +26 096 728 0703
Delport, Jeanette (A) Bulawayo, Zimbabwe (E) music@girlscol.co.zw (T) 00 26 396 0436 (M) 00 26 371 242 3281
du Plessis, Sue (A) Zambia (E) gameranch@gmail.com (T) (M) 026096 689 2400
Grant-Fletcher Steyn, Alison (A) Botswana (E) gfalison@gmail.com (T) +26 39 230 896 (M) +26 39 230 896
Hughes, Irene (A) Glencairn, WC/Botswana (E) japhir@iafrica.com (T) 021 782 3951 (M) 060 506 3426
Kinsey, Lynn (A) Harare, Zimbabwe (E) magnoliadreamszim@gmail.com (T) +263 430 2812 (M) +263 775 640 4950
Naik, Sharnarz (A) Bulawayo, Zim (E) shanarznaik@gmail.com (T) (M) 077 458 7258
Sarkiss, Amal (A) Bulawayo, Zim (E) amalsarkiss@hotmail.com (T) 0263 928 7644 (M) 0263 712 413 090
Vandeyar, Diana (A) USA (E) diana@vandeyar.net (T) (M) 076 245 6805
Wright, Lucretia (A) Zimbabwe (E) lucretia@conolly.co.zw (T) 0263 924 7147 (M) 0263 775 269 275

 

Recommended

Rebelo, Beverley (A) Harare, Zim (E) brebelo@zol.co.zw (T) 00263 4 860766 (M) 00263 772 362165
Rebelo, Gill (A) Nairobi, Kenya (E) rebelo@connect.co.ke (T) 254 20418 (M) 27760722 613 105